Elephant9 – Mythical River (2024)

Elephant9 - Mythical River (2024)
Artist: Elephant9
Album: Mythical River
Genre: Jazz Rock, Psychedelic Rock, Fusion
Label: Rune Grammofon
Year Of Release: 2024
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

01. Solitude In Limbo #2 1:41
02. Mythical River 8:07
03. Party Among The Stars 6:18
04. Chamber of Silence 2:50
05. Heading For Desolate Wastelands 5:57
06. Star Cluster Detective 4:49
07. Cavern Of The Red Lion 5:10
08. Solitude In Limbo #1 1:41


– Ståle Storløkken / keyboards
– Nikolai Hængsle / bass
– Torstein Lofthus / drums, percussion

Their previous album Arrival of The New Elders presented a more varied and reflective trio, still as groovy as ever, but more structured and less jam oriented, earning them a 9/10 review in Uncut and a spot in their albums of the year list, noting their telepathic communion and concluding with “this is an Elephant9 you´ll never forget”. Reviews in Jazzwise, Shindig, Prog, Electronic Sound, The Quietus and several others followed in the same fashion. We´re delighted to confirm that Mythical River is moulded much in the same way and a natural follow-up, with six stellar new compositions by keyboard maestro Ståle Storløkken, bookended by two cosmic snippets. From the hypnotic and magical to the razor sharp and polyrhythmic, this is yet another very strong group effort from a trio on top of their game. Comparisons have been made with bands dating as far back as the sixties, but with Arrival of The New Elders and Mythical River Elephant9 appear as a thoroughly contemporary, timeless and even futuristic sounding band.

Mythical River was recorded and mixed by previous Dungen producer Mattias Glavå.

Visited 7 times, 1 visit(s) today

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *