Caravan – If I Could Do It All Over Again, I’d Do It All Over You (1970/2001)

Caravan - If I Could Do It All Over Again, I'd Do It All Over You (1970/2001)
Artist: Caravan
Album: If I Could Do It All Over Again, I’d Do It All Over You
Genre: Canterbury Scene
Label: Decca
Year Of Release: 1970/2001
Quality: FLAC (image+.cue)

01. If I Could Do It All Over Again, I’d Do It All Over You – 3:05
02. And I Wish I Were Stoned / Don’t Worry – 8:12
03. As I Feel I Die – 5:12
04. With An Ear To The Ground You Can Make It / Martinian / Only Cox / Reprise – 9:51
05. Hello Hello – 3:44
06. Asforteri – 1:12
07. Can’t Be Long Now / Francoise / For Richard / Warlock – 14:17
08. Limits – 1:32

Bonus Tracks:
09. A Day In The Life Of Maurice Haylett – 5:40
10. Why? (And I Wish I Were Stoned) (Demo Version) – 4:22
11. Clipping The 8th (Hello Hello) (Demo Version) – 3:13
12. As I Feel I Die (Demo Version) – 4:39


– Pye Hastings / 6- & 12-string electric guitars, acoustic guitar, claves, vocals
– David Sinclair / organ, piano, harpsichord
– Richard Sinclair / bass, tambourine, vocals
– Richard Coughlan / drums, congas, bongos, maracas, finger cymbals

– Jimmy Hastings / saxophone, flute

Caravan followed up their eponymous debut with the cryptically titled If I Could Do It All Over Again I’d Do It All Over You in the fall of 1970. If I Could Do It All Over Again contains significant progressions over the first album. These include the intricacy with which compositions are sculpted around some of the finest instrumental improvisation in British rock at the time — or arguably since. Caravan’s uncanny ability to create a montage that effortlessly maneuvers through acoustic folk and electric progressive rock is best exemplified on the “With an Ear to the Ground” suite. The extended instrumental passages weave in and out of each other, creating a hypnotic and otherwise psychedelic soundscape that would become a trademark of the European progressive rock movement. Another epic, “For Richard” quickly found solid standing as the Caravan live performance closer for decades after first appearing on this album. Juxtaposed against these pieces are several shorter works, which in essence clear the palette for the longer ones. The title track, as well as “Hello, Hello” are perfect examples of how Caravan was able to one-up many of their progressive contemporaries, creating shorter and more accessible songs for radio airplay — resulting in a guest appearance on BBC TV’s Top of the Pops program.
Review by Lindsay Planer

Visited 49 times, 1 visit(s) today

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *